Elysium Theatre Company presents
THE DURHAM SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL 2024

OTHELLO by William Shakespeare

“Perdition catch my soul but I do love thee, and when I love thee not, chaos is come again.”

This September Elysium returns with a dazzling new production of Shakespeare’s immortal tragedy of love and jealousy…

Cyprus is under threat from an invasion from the Turks. The Duke of Venice sends his best general, Othello the Moor, to defend the island in its hour of need. Othello is newly married to the young and beautiful Desdemona. Their love seems indestructible. But as the fate of Europe hangs in the balance Othello’s malevolent officer Iago has other plans. Determined to destroy his commander, he rips apart Othello’s love for Desdemona by sowing seeds of jealousy in his tortured mind.

OTHELLO tours to 19 venues across the North, including four days at the Assembly Rooms in Durham for the second DURHAM Shakespeare Festival.

Praise for previous Elysium productions:

“The performance was extraordinary… electrifying…  transporting us into a world of avarice, paranoia, mania and betrayal.” – Mirage News, ‘Macbeth’

“Rollicking… The actors’ enjoyment of the text is infectious… entertaining to the last minute.” – Read Durham English, ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’

“A fine production of a modern classic… should be required viewing.” – Northern Soul, ‘The Island’

 

OUR DATES

Week 1

Wed 18 Sept Queen’s Hall Arts, Hexham Book Now

Thur 19 Sept Queen’s Hall Arts, Hexham Book Now

Fri 20 Sept Duke’s Theatre, Lancaster Book Now

Sat 21 Sept Duke’s Theatre, Lancaster Book Now

Week 2

Mon 23 Sept Edgehill Arts Centre, Ormskirk Book Now 

Tue 24 Sept Alnwick Playhouse, Alnwick Book Now

Thur 26 Sept Civic Theatre, Gosforth Book Now

Fri 27 Sept John Marley Centre, Newcastle Book Now

Sat 28 Sept John Marley Centre, Newcastle Book Now

Week 3

Tue 1 Oct Blackhall Community Centre, Hartlepool Booking Coming Soon

Wed 2 Oct The Witham, Barnard Castle Book Now

Thur 3 Oct Washington Arts Centre Booking Coming Soon

Fri 4 Oct Bishop Auckland Town Hall Book Now

Sat 5 Oct Ushaw House, Ushaw Moor Book Now

Week 4

Tue 8 Oct Princess Alexandra Auditorium, Yarm Book Now

Wed 9 Oct Carriage Works Theatre, Leeds Book Now

Thurs 10 Oct Georgian Theatre Royal, Richmond Book Now

Fri 11 Oct Theatre 41, York Book Now

Sat 12 Oct Empire Theatre, Consett Book Now

Week 5

Tue 15 Oct Seventeen Nineteen Theatre, Sunderland Book Now

Wed 16 Oct Assembly Rooms, Durham (DURHAM SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL) Book Now

Thurs 17 Oct Assembly Rooms, Durham (DURHAM SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL) Book Now

Fri 18 Oct Assembly Rooms, Durham (DURHAM SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL) Book Now

Sat 19 Oct Assembly Rooms, Durham (DURHAM SHAKESPEARE FESTIVAL) Book Now

Sun 20 Oct The Maltings, Berwick Book Now

SUPPORTED BY THE ARTS COUNCIL OF ENGLAND AND WALES